The Cows Will Thank You! a vegetarian (and sometimes vegan) food blog


Hello! About the blog and me!
March 31, 2010, 2:35 pm
Filed under: Ramblings | Tags: , , ,

Welcome to The Cows Will Thank You.  This is my food blog where I will share my adventures in vegetarian (and sometimes vegan) cooking.  I started cooking only vegetarian at home about a year ago, and I love it!  My girlfriend and I made the decision together for political and animal rights reasons, and since I spent 23 years of my life eating meat… I still eat some occasionally when I’m out.  Like when I had bacon last weekend…

But I only cook vegetarian at home, and I’m pretty poor, so I don’t eat out a whole lot.  I am so glad I’ve chosen to cook this way.  When I was only eating meat, the dishes I made at home were pretty limited.  I would make some kind of meat, a vegetable and a simple side — nearly every day.  The typical American meal!  When I decided to go veg, I had never been exposed to vegetarian eating, so I was like uhhh…. what do I do now?!?!

In the beginning, we ate a lot of pasta and other crap.  But recently I’ve discovered a whole world of Asian and Middle Eastern cooking that I thought was untouchable before.  I’ve also discovered some amazingly tasty American dishes that are surprisingly similar to meat, much healthier, and nobody had to die for it to be on my plate!  Yayyyy.

When I was younger, I used to hate to cook.  Although my mom did an amazing job raising me with limited income, and there was a hot meal in front of my face every day of the week, for which I’m eternally grateful, cooking just always seemed like another chore.  I love being challenged and learning new things, and I’m not afraid of failing, so now cooking, for me, encompasses all of that!  I’m trying to cook with many new ingredients and styles, many of which I’ve never even tasted before.  Most importantly I’m nourishing myself and my girlfriend and occasionally friends and family with delicious food that is good for their bodies and minds.  And to be honest, I’m shopping at markets and at Asian and Indian supermarkets, and I’m spending less on groceries than ever!

 I’m not vegan (yet?), but sometimes my meals are vegan — or could be easily made vegan, so I’ll be sure to note that.  Other than that, I hope you enjoy my ramblings and get some good recipes!  If you’re new to the vegetarian thing, don’t sweat it — you’ll figure it out and it will change your life!  I’ll also try to include as many photos and videos as I can for all ya’ll visual learners out there.

Peace! 🙂

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

can’t wait to see some vegan recipes!
~wendy
http://conradvisionquest.wordpress.com/

Comment by conradvisionquest

Thanks!! 🙂

Comment by thecowswillthankyou

honey girl loved your blog maybe u can teach me something new or better yet make me something new when i visit i’ll do dishes ha ha ha love u

Comment by mom




Leave a Reply

